1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
232 Posts
It seems like a lot of the issues newer engines have had over the last decade (engines with GDI, turbo) like excessive oil consumption (and engine failure from not checking the oil and running out) might be caused by doing extended oil changes.

There’s videos from a Ford tech and Toyota guy on YouTube showing what extended oil changes can cause, like carbon build up on piston rings and sludge.

But I don’t really know. Some people have no issues with extending their oil changes while others have oil burning or engine failure because of it. Maybe driving habits and conditions play a part in that.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
The article says dont follow the sticker but rather check your owner's manual, you did and it tells you to change it at the 3750 intervals so the article is right, follow the owner's manual.
I'm a mechanic, my non Kia car says every 8k, I drive 80% highway and I have never gone o er 5500 without changing it. Its because I take these engines apart and can tell you exactly what they look like with extended service intervals when they fail.

·
Registered
2012 Soul Plus. Automatic, 2.0 engine
438 Posts
On my daily drivers I go 5000 miles or 1` year between changes. As you can tell we don't drive much anymore. I always use GL-6 synthetic and check oil and other fluids each week.

·
Registered
2,631 Posts
Arggg! Please, bitte, por favor, NOT Another Oil thread!
* Administrator, please delete this useless thread!!!

Results for NOT changing oil on a regular basis are numerous, and can even be disastrous!!!
bwdz75 can testify to that, as can I.

It's down right Stupid and harmful to advocate L....O....N....G intervals between oil changes.
This is a HELP forum, not a HURT forum, so STOP advocating extended oil change intervals,
or I'll put a HEX on you! :)

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·