Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I'm a newbie on this site. Wife and I are owners of a 2014 Kia Soul. It's the Latte color. We looked and pondered for around 2 years and finally took the plunge! We really enjoy driving it. Anyway enough of the butter on thick and on to the problem. We waxed our Soul with a "Mothers" brand wax and couldn't help getting it on the black grille and insert in spots. It won't come off. What do we do?? Is there a fix or is there a special wax we are to use on our Soul? Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance to all,

·
Premium Member
4,959 Posts
Welcome to KSF.

Exactly which Mothers wax did you get? A lot of older style waxes will leave a white residue on black plastic like the Soul bumpers.
I use Armor-All Extreme Shield Wax and you can put it on every surface, even in sunlight and easily polish off leaving no residue at all on anything black on the car.

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
You probably have a white residue on the black plastic.
Guess you learned that wax or polish on "black trim" makes a mess.
It needs to be emulsified.I'd try something like WD-40 on the grill.
Just spray it on to see if it disolves the wax.I'd just coat the entire
grille with the WD-40.It will wash off after awhile.
Once you get the grille clean and if you have other "black trim" areas,the best
product I've found to use is Auto Glymn rubber &plastic coating.Just pray it on
or use a sponge.Works great on tire too.No cheap shiny finish.Just a semi-gloss that really
lasts.I use it on the black on my bumpers.May have to order online.Amazon and others
carry it.PepBoys did handle.Its from the UK.

·
Registered
6 Posts
If there's not a lot an eraser works pretty
Good. Most waxes now days will tell you it doesn't leave wax residues

·
Registered
509 Posts
if it's textured plastic, an old soft toothbrush works well, too.