Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I’m relatively new to the Kia Soul world. I bought my 2010 base 1.6 5 speed with 111,000 miles about 3 months ago. I love it but I’m wondering what it can tow. I have a little aluminum 12ft boat. Not sure how much it weighs but it’s definitely under 1000 pounds. I’m wondering if the Kia can safely tow it because it’s already kind of gutless lol. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
Yes. HP is no problem. Brakes and the clutch is going to be your weak point here. Europeans tow up to 2k with these cars. With your stick I predict you will be doing some clutch jobs; you will have a lot of trouble getting moving without slipping the clutch. I personally wouldn't tow anything heavier than a couple hundred pounds with my stick. If it was automatic you would be Golden.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes. HP is no problem. Brakes and the clutch is going to be your weak point here. Europeans tow up to 2k with these cars. With your stick I predict you will be doing some clutch jobs; you will have a lot of trouble getting moving without slipping the clutch. I personally wouldn't tow anything heavier than a couple hundred pounds with my stick. If it was automatic you would be Golden.
I put a new clutch in it about 2000 miles ago. So I think it’ll be a little bit before I have to do another clutch since the one that was in there was factory at 111,000 miles. With towing which won’t be often I think I could get 40,000 out of this one. Thank you! The boat is very light so hopefully it’ll do okay.

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
I put a new clutch in it about 2000 miles ago. So I think it’ll be a little bit before I have to do another clutch since the one that was in there was factory at 111,000 miles. With towing which won’t be often I think I could get 40,000 out of this one. Thank you! The boat is very light so hopefully it’ll do okay.