Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 2010 Soul for nearly 2 years now and it's time to upgrade the (upgraded) stereo. I listen to a lot of techno and drum & bass, and the rear sub just can't produce those deep bass tones.

It's been a while since I've done this though, so I wanted to get some advice on how to execute my ideas. This is going to be a piecemeal operation as I am a broke college student.

My first priority is the sub. I'd like to put a custom sub box in the rear that will leave the floor space basically the same as before. Something like kevin21's setup in this thread would be perfect.

What I'm considering doing is leaving the factory sub/amp in and adding a high pass filter to it, tuned to 100Hz or so, and then adding a 10" or 12" with a separate amp to hit those low tones. Is this a good idea, or should I just ditch the factory sub altogether?

I've also got a pair of Polk db650s laying around that I'd like to use in the rear door speakers. How are the speakers powered? Do they get it from the head unit, or from the amp that powers the sub? If it's the amp, could it handle the db650s?

I'd also like to pick up some db6501 component speakers at some point to add to the front. I assume at that point I'd want to add a 4x amp for those?

I'll be leaving the stock head unit as what I have planned for that is a bit too ambitious for my budget at the moment.

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
I think adding a high pass filter to you factory sub is a great idea. That way your aftermarket sub can focus on the lower tones, jut make sure to throw in some sort of volume control on your high pass filter, or some way to control that output.

The door speakers are powered by the external amp, but as far as that amp powering THOSE speakers, I don't know.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3