Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased my Soul on December 27th and so far I love it ! I am new to this site and this was my first time buying a brand new car. My one and only question/complaint is about the mpg. I am a very cautious driver and I usually drive no more than 5 mph greater than the speed limit. Since the day I got my soul I only drove 163 miles and I only have a quarter tank left. I calculated it and I'm only getting about 18 mpg which is a lot different from what I am supposed to get. Is this something that should change as the car gets "broken in" or is this something I should be concerned with and address to the dealership ? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

·
Registered
used to own a 2016 Soul SX 2.0L - Caribbean Blue
15,156 Posts
give it time you have even had your first fill-up, and don't use a gas gauge to judge mileage that can be a long way off. Use manual calculation based on fuel used divided by the miles travelled. How did you calculate it to arrive at 18 mpg?
Don't be obsessed about mileage till you get some miles on the vehicle.

·
Registered
231 Posts
@31.8mpg in a 2010 2.0 Auto I am well above the advertised mileage. And I have 27K miles on it. Anytime someone claims to be a very cautious driver that only breaks the law by 5 mph, I snicker and ask myself who the think they are kidding.

·
Registered
231 Posts
Did you fill the tank or did the dealer? And conwelpic is right that relying on your gas gauge by eye or the "Brainiac" computer won't get you real numbers like the gas receipt and calculator.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6