Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In researching, I came across the, possibly obvious?, notion that having more sidewall reduces the risk of wheel damage from potholes?

So if I go from my stock 235 45r18 to the 215 55r17 for my 2016 Kia Soul then I'd be adding aspect ratio which in turn keeps the rims a tad bit safer? Ultimately proving to be the better investment when looking towards the years ahead.

I mention all this due to the hell my tires and rims have gone through after this past Winter.

Hope I got that terminology right. I'm a total noob with cars.

Thanks in advance, ;-)

·
Registered
4,435 Posts
As a fellow NYC resident I concur.
More sidewall does protect the rim but not without a price.
For me though, the 18's simply offer up too stiff a ride for these NYC (mean) streets.
I find the 16's perfectly adequate and after 6 years of ownership I have No rim dents/dings and the alignment is still spot on.
It really comes down to where your priorities lie.
If handling is paramount then the 18's are a better choice.
If comfort is you concern then the 16's will offer up a better ride quality.
With limited suspension travel and already quirky handling I'm happy with the 16's the car came with.
I even considered going with 15's in a wheel & tire package from Discount Tire Direct as it was cost effective at the time.

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
For me though, the 18's simply offer up too stiff a ride for these NYC (mean) streets.
I find the 16's perfectly adequate and after 6 years of ownership I have No rim dents/dings and the alignment is still spot on.
With limited suspension travel and already quirky handling I'm happy with the 16's the car came with.
I even considered going with 15's in a wheel & tire package from Discount Tire Direct as it was cost effective at the time.
Dealer told me that 15's would not work, because of the Brake Disk fitment would not fit...