Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,435 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I read in a members post here that his soul performed noticeably better with a thinker (dino) oil over full synthetic.
He attributed this to the synthetic oil not being viscous enough to sufficiently activate his V.V.T.
While I am no expert on V.V.T. I find his findings somewhat questionable and in contrast to what little I know of V.V.T.
I am also no expert or even novice for that matter on the inner workings of his particular vehicle so this is a case of owner knows best.
I have always been under the impression that thicker/too thick an oil will foul the V.V.T. operation not vice-versa.
Would be interested in what our resident tech/techies have to share on this subject cause this enquiring mind really wants to know!

·
Premium Member
2017 KIA Soul base, Titanium. Bought some better taars.
2,616 Posts
I thought that sounded foolish but I don't know enough about the triggering mechanism. To further confuse the issue,

Manufacturers like to use a lot of acronyms on their cars. Variable valve lift (VVL) and variable valve timing (VVT) are two of the most popular ones. These systems sound pretty similar, but what do they actually do? Luckily, there's a real engineer here to explain it to us.
Variable valve lift is mainly used to enhance performance. Instead of having one cam profile for the entire rev range, a VVL engine has two: low-lift and high-lift. Under regular conditions, the engine will use the low-lift cam to operate the valves, but under higher load, a solenoid switches the engine over to the to the high-lift cam (or cams), increasing valve travel and therefore, performance.