Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone, I'm new to the form.

I had my odometer screen go black and when I brought it to the Kia dealership they told me yes this is a problem they are aware of and will replace it (car is still under warranty). The dealer said I had to come in as soon as the part was in as it will be calibrated to my current km's. Well, I went in as soon as the part was in and low and behold the km reading started back at 0 (which they NEVER told me...I had to start driving away before I noticed it). They have placed a sticker inside my door that says the km's before the new instrument cluster.

In short I'm not happy and both the Dealership and Kia Canada have told me "we are washing our hands of this" as they say they are in full compliance with the Weights and Measures Act. I'm still under my 60,000km warranty and now am taking Kia Canada to Arbitration and have a court date for August 2nd.

My question is, has anyone else had this problem and what have they done about it? Or do you have any ideas/information that I can use to win my court case...I don't feel safe with this car (had most other electrical components replaced...new navigation system, new instrument cluster, keyless car entry doesn't work sometimes and can't lock my doors).

Cheers,
Jill

·
Registered
used to own a 2016 Soul SX 2.0L - Caribbean Blue
15,156 Posts
so if they said it will be calibrated to your current kilometers why did you not just go right back and ask why it was not done - can they even do such a thing? How many kilometers on your vehicle when this was done? Why would it going back to zero be that big of a thing, if its noted that that this is not the case.

You have a balance of a 5 yr or 100,000 km warranty, not sure where 60k came from.

Did you talk to KIA Canada about it or contact CAMVAP (info is in the back of your warranty book)?