Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a very minor problem, but, I'm posting this to see if anyone else is having the same situation. My 2020 KIA Soul door handles have nearly caught my finger between the handle and its base on more than one occasion and on both the driver and passenger door. I did mention this to the dealer when I took it in for my first oil change the other day.

I've been driving now for 55 years, I work at a Honda dealership as a porter, and I'm in and out of dozens and dozens of cars a day. I have no recollection of having this same experience with any other car through the years...and never on my 2015 Soul. Although I haven't actually gotten pinched-pinched, it's enough that I feel my finger getting nearly caught when getting in the car.

This doesn't diminish my love for this car at all. It's just a very "intriguing" matter that may need to be addressed if I'm not the only one experiencing the "problem".

·
Registered
81 Posts
That's never happened to me but I just experimented with it and I see how it might happen if you were standing farther toward the rear of the car and maybe using your right hand it could grab your pinky.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Haven't come close to experincing this myself on my Soul. Is it maybe the way you are grabbing the handle? If I enter the driver's side I use my left hand to open the door, and I have big hands. Too bad you don't have a picture to show how its happening.

·
Registered
4,362 Posts
Yes...several times in fact.
Slow reaction times coupled with mouse trap technology yields "pinched fingers" I am afraid.
What they should have done was that slow dampened return, similar to the Jesus handles found in many car interiors.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yes...several times in fact.
Slow reaction times coupled with mouse trap technology yields "pinched fingers" I am afraid.