Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two contenders for my next car;

2013 Kia Soul + with the 2.0 MPI and six speed manual, loaded, leather seats, wheel, shifter
118k for $9k

2010 Toyota Matrix 1.8 automatic, approx same miles, base interior/trim/stereo for $13k

I LOATHE automatics, so the Soul is ahead on there, it’s also more powerful ((165 vs 132)

The Matrix front passenger seat folds forward flat for long cargo (or camping) and the matrix can hold more cargo

The Toyota 1.8 is famous for its indestructible nature…

But it’s a bloody automatic, and $3k more for a 2 year older car

Is Toyota’s reputation for reliability worth the extra $3000?

I want to give the Soul a chance, but I also don’t want a “throwaway” car, I have zero experience with Kia/Hyundai, I know they’re pretty damn close to Toyota and Honda, so how is the Soul long term?

· Registered
1,583 Posts
Neighbor has a 12 . She bought it when it was a year or two old. Said she had very few problems with it. Nothing major. 100k now. She is getting ready to put it in the body shop cause some doofus backed into it, messed up the front bumper cover and broke one of the fog lights. So I guess she's planning on keeping it.

· Registered
2014 Titanium Stick Shift Pacific NW
8,998 Posts

2013 Kia Soul + with the 2.0 MPI and six speed manual, loaded, leather seats, wheel, shifter
118k for $9k

2010 Toyota Matrix 1.8 automatic, approx same miles, base interior/trim/stereo for $13k

I LOATHE automatics, so the Soul is ahead on there, it’s also more powerful ((165 vs 132)

The Matrix front passenger seat folds forward flat for long cargo (or camping) and the matrix can hold more cargo

I want to give the Soul a chance, but I also don’t want a “throwaway” car, I have zero experience with Kia/Hyundai, I know they’re pretty damn close to Toyota and Honda, so how is the Soul long term?