Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going do this in parts as it's kind of long. Here it goes!

Kia Soul Friends,

PART 1 - Connectors
Over the last several weeks I have been working to install an aftermarket amplifier in my car without cutting any factory wires and without removing the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) head unit (HU). I have the infinity system with navigation and with an external amplifier. My car is a 2015 Soul + Caribbean Blue and it is currently leased. I will be buying this car, but just in case I did not want to do anything that would compromise it. I think to replace the HU and its functionality would be expensive. I also like this HU better than any other OEM HU I have ever used with maybe the exception of my dad’s 1985 Corolla, that thing rocked. Just a side note, I have a degree in electronics technology and worked on aircraft avionics systems in the USAF.

The largest hurdle was finding the correct connectors that would mate with the factory amplifier in order to use the speaker level outputs. It took three months of research and persistence to find the correct parts for this application. The head unit outputs an SPDIF signal to the OEM amp and there are other signals from the data bus and the navigation system that go to the OEM amp. My understanding is that the OEM amp also utilizes DSP before it outputs its signals to the speakers. I think it sounds good, I just want more power!