Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner
1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings Fellow soul mates!! Newbie here... Hope everyone is having a good day!

Last week my motor went out on my 2015 Soul Exclaim. Dealer did say this was under warranty, but they are not seeing this issue in the 2nd generation souls. Looking here, I do see some of you are having this same issue with the 2.0 NuGDI motors. How many miles did your motors have before it crapped out? My husband is a mechanic and we actually drove the car the night before the motor died for our date night, that being said, there were NO Dash lights, no smell of burning oil, no smoke from the exhaust, no motor knocking, not a single indication of any problems until the dang thing was BONE DRY and ticking on my way to work the next day.

local Kia dealership has ALWAYS changed the oil and done that type of maintenance on the car. I was 500 miles away from the next recommended oil change. I do LOVE my SOUL; but am completely freaked out by this situation and am wondering what this new motor replacement means for the car value, warranty, etc. for me and remaining life of the SOUL.

Obviously knowing this motor is problematic for burning up to 1 quart per 1000 miles, the hubs and I will keep better monitoring on the fluid levels, but do brand new cars just burn oil????? :grey:

Thanks for your help and comments. Looking forward to getting to know you all and our cars much better!!

Christina in Atlanta

·
Super Moderator
2010 Exclaim
8,235 Posts
Howdy and welcome to the forums!!

Reactions: fridayfire

·
Registered
2014 Titanium Stick Shift Pacific NW
8,126 Posts
Hi Christina and welcome!

I think getting a brand new engine at 50,000 miles is a good thing. No cost to you and you basically get to start at zero. I've heard the new engine will be warranted for 10 additional years. Maybe you can verify that.

Yes, new engines can burn oil. Here's a little science behind it:

·