Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I have a 2015 Kia Soul with 90,000 miles. I am the original owner. I have taken the car to Kia for all maintenance and oil changes. My car always idled rough when it was cold for the first few minutes. About 3 months ago my ECV went of course Kia repaired the car at no cost. 2 weeks ago my car started making the same noise again and the check engine light came on. I took it to the dealer immediately they said it needed a timing chain, tensioner, Constant Variable Valve Timing Control System. While tearing apart my engine for repair they found metal shavings in my engine. They are saying the rods are deteriorating and are replacing the engine, under warranty. I have read some other people who have had this problem on complaint forums and had several engine replacements. Obviously, I am not a car mechanic or car person. I am concerned with my warranty being so close to its end that this might happen again. Has anyone else had problems with their engine? Is it time to part with my car? Any advice?

Thank you,
Claire

·
Registered
2014 Titanium Stick Shift Pacific NW
7,606 Posts
Hi Claire and welcome to the forum!

You are not alone with this problem. I'm not sure how much you know about the Hyundai/Kia problem, across multiple vehicles, with this "metal shavings" problem AND engine fires. Check the link below for a discussion and links to other threads.

There is a class action lawsuit, that includes your 2015, in the works. While the Soul isn't recalled for this problem, the suit wants it, and other years added.

Other models that have been recalled receive an extended powertrain warranty to 120,000 miles (whatever??).