Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
NE Kansas, 2011 Kia Soul Base
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at a 2011 Gen 1 right now at a local dealer here in Lawrence, Kansas. It has:
  1. the 1.6L 4 Cyl. CVVT
  2. 5 Speed Manual w/ Overdrive
  3. 116,153 miles on the clock
  4. Base, few frills commuter car
Dealer has it for wholesale at $4500.

Is that a good deal?
What things should I look out for?
How easy are they to wrench on myself as a shade tree mechanic?
How are they past 100k?

·
Registered
2012 Soul Plus. Automatic, 2.0 engine
364 Posts
Although I have no experience with the small engine Souls or manual transmissions I can say that they are in general really reliable. My daughter's 2010 has about 160,000 and although the engine was replaced(not a wear issue, hose failure drained coolant and engine blew before she could get it stopped) the rest of the car and the replacement engine(used) have been excellent. Very few problems.

·
Premium Member
Co. 6900ft 2018 and 2012 Soul+
372 Posts
HI !!

According to Kelly Blue book, the sale price of 4500 is right on the top of the scale for that vehicle. That is based upon my area, but is subjective to yours.

Consider the condition of fair to good, and the value should be around 4k. If the vehicle is good to very good, then I might consider 4.5k$ That's me. If it was my kid who was shopping it, I would look around at that price and see what else may be available. Again, that's me.

I can't speak for all, but in my observation, it seems that there are many that made it past 100k and some 200k and are still going. There is at least 1 verified case of 300k I am aware of. I'm at 75k with my 2012 Plus and he's still going strong, so I expect it will easily make 100k + in the years ahead, if given the chance.

Good luck, and let us know what you decided,

H

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4