Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2011+, 5 speed. I'm new to Souls. Ran across a 2011 with 65k on the clock. Was looking for a manual to tow behind motor home and it fits the bill! My 13 Optima has plenty of power but the soul is a little lacking. I'm looking for basic performance mods that will help the output of the 2 liter. Point me to a thread. I tried to search but was overwhelmed!

Thanks in advance!

Hal

·
Registered
263 Posts

I don't think too many of us get into motor mods but apparently there are several items available. More came up, attached a representative sample.

·
Registered
156 Posts
There's a few things available. Intakes are pretty easy to find, there are a few headers, the doug thorley axle back exhaust can normally be found on ebay. I went to a local shop and had them make a full catback exhaust for me. A beta 2 tiburon underdrive pulley will work, I have the one from shark racing, but haven't put it on yet.

There used to be a turbo kit available from jattus, I only know of one be sold and they have since quit making turbo kits. Tuning would need a piggyback like the aem fic or something like megasquirt. A member here has megasquirt on their soul, I'm not sure if all of the bugs were worked out.

·
Registered
550 Posts
None of those mods will help with the towing problem. Manufacturer doesn't recommend towing with this car, period.

If you feel "lucky", and still want to tow, a necessary mod would be to add an extra transmission cooler, to help with towing heat. That is more efficient to do on Automatic transmissions. Is routinelly made on big SUV's when they have a "towing package". Of course and add the electrical harness.

On a manual transmission the weakest link it will be the clutch. Not sure if you can find an upgraded one...

·
Registered
315 Posts
Was looking for a manual to tow behind motor home
None of those mods will help with the towing problem