Kia Soul Forums :: Kia Soul Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello world, I bought the 1.6 gasoline (petrol) a few days ago and I am curious to the RPMs your obtaining at highway speeds. Im doing around 3,000 RPMs at 65mph. I thought it might be high and I am wondering if it IS high then how to I change the gearing? Im new to stick shifts so I wanted to hear from other 1.6 errrrs.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
I have a 2.0 auto and my RPM's are high as well. Around 3500 rpm going 75mph.

They really need to add a 5th gear to the automatic. Would improve gas mileage by a lot.

My 1992 silhouette went around 1800 RPM's at 75mph.

·
Registered
110 Posts
My god that is screaming! Glad I went for a manual.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I usually keep my cruise control at 82mph on the turnpike. My rpm's stay around 3500. I was wondering if this was high or not. It's been a few years since I've driven a manual transmission (5-speed gasoline).

·
Registered
192 Posts
Hello world, I bought the 1.6 gasoline (petrol) a few days ago and I am curious to the RPMs your obtaining at highway speeds. Im doing around 3,000 RPMs at 65mph. I thought it might be high and I am wondering if it IS high then how to I change the gearing? Im new to stick shifts so I wanted to hear from other 1.6 errrrs.
Hi Atrm84:
Your engine RPM's aren't "high" and don't fool with the gearing. The Engineers at the Factory know what they are doing. The only time you'd need to change gearing - would be if you made a significant change to the tire diameter - that would in effect change the over-all gear ratio's of your car. Or if you wanted to use your car for some more narrowly defined use - like drag racing, or pulling stumps out of the ground.

I don't know about the 1.6 Liter - but the 2.0 Liter Twin Over Head Cam is Red Lined at 6500 RPM - That engine should have no problem running 7/24 between 3000 and 4000 RPM once it is broken in properly.